Esprimoj – Expressions Esperantic

Many moons ago, say in 1989 I began a project in an attempt to fill a perceived niche in Esperantujo. I bought one of those Badge -A-Minit kits and created a few button designs at work. I was working at a printer at the time and during my lunch hour I would use the old letterpress equipment to print a few ‘clever’ designs. The one I personally liked the best was my ‘Ni Estu Amikoj’ button.

I did manage to sell a few by contacting a few of the regional’ Esperanto groups in the US with my ‘catalog’, an 8.5 x 14 inch sheet of paper with the text of my designs on it. I also convinced my artist friend to create a T-shirt design which to this day is available from Esperanto USA.

So my button business petered out in the late 1990’s. Than about 2 years ago, I decided to check out this CafePress place I’d heard about. You only have to do the design work and assign products on which to place it. Cool. I designed a bunch of ideas and put them on shirts and buttons and anything else I could think of. I started up an Esprimoj website to try and get the word out. It’s working. I cannot claim to be getting rich, but I do get a trickle of orders, (which CafePress fills, ships, and bills,) and I collect a small commission. My favorite design is my ‘Eat, Sleep, Speak‘ design because it isn’t so very obvious.

One thing I find interesting is that lately I’ve been getting orders, whereas for about 6 months before I got nary a one. I cannot say, but I’m wondering if this is because of the Christmas season or because of some kind of upturn in the economy. Some of the orders have been from other countries, so I dunno. In any case, I guarantee my commission goes to a worthy cause. I’ve been known to use my ‘Cafe Cash’ to buy shirts for my daughter. What’s building up now I’m saving to buy a proof of my upcoming railroad book: Remember the Sussex Branch. In case anyone’s interested I do have a book of six short stories available as well.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

