The Mythical IKEA

Yesterday we journeyed away to find the mythical IKEA store in Paramus, NJ. I say ‘mythical’ because we had often heard of this furniture store, but had never gone there. Well, a few years ago, when we re-did our kitchen, we no longer had room for the grand, bulky, pine dining room table which previously occupied a large portion of our room. After the kitchen re-do was done, we ate from a card table ‘until we got a new table that would fit better’.

Well, I got tired of the flimsy card table and built a perfect sized kitchen table using a few donated pieces of wood from a friend and some purchased wood from Lowes. The bill came to about $50. This table came out so nice that my wife decided that we should just keep it and get chairs to match.

Well, the chairs got put off and put off. We were eating off of one folding chair and two cast off wooden chairs that my aunt found along the road. The wooden chairs were getting ricketier by the month and I had to repair them several times.

So finally, we decided to go buy chairs for the table. We were assured that you just go down 208 to 4 and there’s signs that ‘you can’t miss’. We missed the signs and ended up at the verge of crossing the GWB. We stopped for directions, turned around and arrived at IKEA.

They had the chairs we wanted, but they also sold them as a set with a matching table. The price was right, so we got the table too. It all comes in one box, a bit smaller than the flat paper cartons I used to lug around as a printer.

Before we left, we had something to eat. No, we didn’t partake of the Swedish meatball, served in the food court at the store. Instead, I had a cinnamon roll (delicious, but would be better with melted margharine,) and my wife and daughter had hot dogs.

On the way to the door, I spotted a soda machine and snack machine. I went over to discover it sold Gatorade, my favorite. I dug out my pouch of dollar coins and they clunked right in. A few button pushes later, my drink was in my hand. I offered to buy something for my family. My wife asked for some trail mix in the snack machine. The dollar coins worked there too! Much easir than feeding a crinkled dollar bill into these monsters.

So, when we got home, I took a look at the project of putting the table and chairs together. The instructions have no words, just pictograms. Now there‘s a way to avoid language problems!

I had the whole set together within an hour! Nice. My home fashioned table now resides in our family room where it will be used for scrap-booking. Previously our folding table was used for this purpose.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

